Next DLC Coming for Gears of War 3 In January

Gears of War 3 continues to roll on, getting constant support from Epic Games who recently announced the third DLC pack for Gears of War 3 entitled Fenix Rising.  I’m sure you can all see what this DLC is based around considering the first DLC was for Horde and the second contained a campaign oriented DLC.  Yes, you guessed it, this DLC is centered around the multiplayer aspect and also introduces a new leveling system.

Fenix Rising will give players access to 5 brand new maps based on significant locations from Marcus’ life, 4 new multiplayer skins, and like I mentioned, a new leveling system that strongly resembles “Prestige Mode” from Call of Duty.  You’ll also gain access to Recruit Clayton, Thrashball Cole, Savage Marauder, and Savage Kantus as multiplayer character skins.

Called “Re-Up”, this form of prestiging will become an option for players once they reach level 100 and allow players to reset their level and experience to go through the grind once again.  Don’t worry, you won’t lose any of your unlocks, TrueSkill rank, and all other progression.  For Re-Uping you will gain access to exclusive weapon skins and a new rank color based on how many times you’ve gone through it. 

Here are the 5 maps available and a little description of how each is significant to Marcus Fenix:

Academy – Based on the Oracle Academy where military personnel went to train to become officers.  Marcus was expected to attend and follow his family lineage but ultimately, it didn’t happen.

Escalation – Based on the Fenix estate, Haldane Hall where Marcus grew up alongside generations of Fenix family members.  You may remember this map from the original game.  Epic is fixing it up and making it pretty for everyone like they did with Bullet Marsh. 

Anvil – Based on Anvil Gate, all that remains of this fortress is a ruined shell after the events in the campaign.

Depths – The processing section of the secret city of Azura.  It’s here that Adam Fenix first reached out to his son Marcus for help during the events of Gears of War 3.

The Slab – Nickname for the Jacinto Maximum Security Prison, this is where the adventure began for Marcus in the very first Gears of War.  Typically, if you were sent here, there was no chance of parole.  You were often dropped here and forgotten. 

So when can you get it?  Fenix Rising will be available for download on January 17, 2012 for 800 MSP.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s